Skip to content
August 2, 2007 / missallaneous

Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

Only 11 days left at home before I head back to Seattle, and then to Uganda. For some reason that continues to escape me, every time I leave home, it’s always kinda hard. It’s not something that’s gotten easier with practice (and I’ve had some over the last 3 years)… not something that has diminished proportionately to my increased affection for Seattle.

It’s funny: For a traveller, I’m not very good at leaving.

I’m not really sure what it is, but I have the feeling it has to do with having to say goodbye to some things in order to say hello to others. It’s a feeling of loss every time, like I have to choose something and give the other up. I suppose mine’s not really a rational thought process, since opportunity cost is a basic functional economic theory. No, this is purely an emotional approach. I want everything I love… all in one place. Is that bad? Is it even possible?

I never was any good at econ.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. zoku / Aug 2 2007 11:24 am

    nice econ reference.

  2. chenster22 / Aug 2 2007 12:52 pm

    wow that last paragraphs sums it up perfectly for me too.

  3. kate / Aug 12 2007 12:02 pm

    econ=death

    excited to see you!

  4. faye / Aug 19 2007 10:50 pm

    hey melissa :) didn’t know you had a blog. Found you through gaik ping ! I’ll be leaving tomorrow…I know what you mean :( I hate leaving. Have a great trip to Uganda !

  5. missallaneous / Aug 21 2007 12:47 am

    Aw… Hi, Faye :) Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

