Skip to content
August 21, 2007 / missallaneous

AfricAAHHH!

AAAAAHH!

It’s a completely topsy-turvey, overwhelming, exciting, scary, nerve-wracking, incessant worry-inducing, slightly insane, completely loopy thing, but I leave for Uganda in about 16 hours! AAAHH!

10 friends and I are going to a little village called Mafubira to play with AIDS orphans, spend time with widows, and learn what it means to love the people God loves, and care for those whom He has not forgotten… even though it seems like most of the world has. I am ready to be scared beyond measure, to be smacked in the face by the enormity of the problems there, but the even larger extent of God’s hope for His people, to be challenged, to throw up from eating raw meat (ughh, BOOO..), to NOT getting malaria or have jiggas crawling through my skin (yeah! yeah!), to learn from the people I meet, and to build irreversible connections with the friends I’m going with and the Ugandan people I interact with.

I’m not even sure how I’m feeling at the moment since I’m pretty good at damming my insides up so that the overwhelming emotions don’t rush out like a deluge. I think somewhere inside, there’s a mix of fear, pure excitement, nervousness… a lot of not knowing what to expect.

One thing I can expect, though, is that Uganda is going to turn my world upside-down, inside-out, and round and round and round. And I can’t wait.

I’ll miss everyone, and it’s just amazing to know how much we’re being supported and how many are just covering us in prayer. THANK YOU ALL.

I might not be able to update very often, but you can get news of what our Tusubira (“we have hope” in Lusoga) team is up to at our team’s trip blog.

See you September 18th :)

Much love!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. steeni / Aug 23 2007 7:08 pm

    eee africahhh! in the words of phoebe (singing) “good luckkk good luck good luck good luckkkk gooood luuuuuuuuuuuck!!!”

Leave a Reply

