Skip to content
April 18, 2008 / missallaneous

Listen

There are two clips I listen to, sometimes, when I feel tired, uninspired, and kinda hopeless. I’ve listened to both of them over and over again and they’re still meaningful, still extraordinarily encouraging; they’ve become a proverbial, “Chin up, Missa”.

Crispin Thurlow is a brilliant Communications professor at UW and this lecture comes from a CHID class I took a couple of years ago on (Re)Thinking Diversity. Every time I listen to this lecture – it’s actually kinda like a sermon, really – I’m a little more aware of my brokenness, but also a little more hopeful.

Crispin Thurlow’s “sermon”

Sharon Cohn is a lawyer for International Justice Mission. She shared her story at Urbana ’06 and it always reminds me to push harder against the life I think I’m owed and kinda harasses me (in a good way) to reach again and again for what God wants for me and for the rest of the world – justice and compassion.

Sharon Cohn’s story

(There’s no direct link to this, unfortunately, but click on Testimony: International Justice Mission)

Now, I realise that re-listening to old lectures may be the dorkiest thing ever. So, I’m a dork :( You should still give them a go, though.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jeff Lam / Apr 18 2008 12:59 am

    i kinda wonder if crispin thurlow would be creeped out to know we still listen to his same old lecture, years after taking that class =)

  2. missallaneous / Apr 19 2008 9:49 am

    I guess it’s a little creepy :( I’m just glad that you do it too, Jeff :D

  3. djterasaki / Apr 26 2008 11:59 pm

    i just listened to thurlow. thanks for sharing

  4. chrismasuda / Jun 22 2008 1:13 am

    Your last post was April 18th? Dang girl, you need to write some more so I can comment! haha, I miss you, Missa! I’ll call you this week, k? :)

Leave a Reply

