Skip to content
July 13, 2010 / missallaneous

One Month to 25!

I turn 25 in 30 days!

Any suggestions for things I should do before I hit a quarter-century?

Over the past couple of days, I’ve thinking about all the things I’ve always wanted to do, things I wanted to achieve “when I grow up”. And then thought about all the things I have done but all I can conclude is that life is strange and mysterious and  so unexpected – you can hope and dream (and we should), but you can’t really know where it’s gonna take you, can you? How frustrating… and freeing at the same time.

I know enough, though, to know that I don’t know very much… and that there’s heaps more to learn =) And I know enough to know that I’m incredibly blessed to have had many, MANY amazing experiences so far:

I’m lucky enough to have a crazy but wonderful family. I had an unparalleled college experience, living in one of the loveliest cities in the world – Seattle. I’ve met extraordinary people who’ve become friends a girl could never live without. Toured fabulous Euro cities for months. Lived in a craptacular apartment in Roma, wandered and gotten completely lost in Roman streets with a map in one hand and gelato in the other. Gotten seasick and hurled into the Mediterranean Sea (whoops).

Hiked the Grand Canyon and felt so small in its vastness.Witnessed desperate need and unbounded Love hand-in-hand in Mafubira, Uganda. Danced like a fiend at concerts, not caring who sees me. Stood in front of a Cezanne, Mondrian, Degas, Pollock, Bernini… in awe.

I’ve gotten a real, grown-up job! I’ve had to say goodbye to many friends, and learned that it’s never easy and it’s not supposed to be. I’ve stood within 5 feet of the Pope – and Jamaica Kincaid (on totally separate occasions). All along the way, I’ve met beautiful, often broken, people who have allowed me the honour of being their friend and who have each, in their own ways, allowed me to learn my own beauty and my own brokenness too.

It’s not much, I guess… No great accomplishments, no Olympic medals (ha!), no literary prizes. But I can’t help but think I’m blessed beyond all reason – with so much more than one could ever hope for in a lifetime, let alone in 25 years.

One month till I’m 25. Any suggestions for things I HAVE to do/read/see/taste/try before the month is up? =)

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anonymous / Jul 13 2010 12:23 pm

    Hmmm… I say…nothing. :) There is nothing worth experiencing in the coming month that will be any less meaningful or amazing if you experience if the month after. And nothing truly worthless that won’t add something, no matter how small, to a life that is worth living. Me..I’m counting down to turning 30 ;) Sook Wern

    • missallaneous / Jul 13 2010 9:25 pm

      So wise, Sookie. Guess it’s byproduct of being 29 or something ;)

      Counting down to 30 is EXCITING! :D

  2. benj / Jul 14 2010 6:01 pm

    25 is the new 18!

  3. Ashley, the Accidental Olympian / Jul 16 2010 11:22 pm

    The things you’ve listed are items most will never see or do in their lifetime, let alone before they turn 25!

    I think at this rate, you’re on track to sheer greatness.

    Or at LEAST more stellar adventures.

    • missallaneous / Jul 17 2010 9:34 pm

      You are way too kind, Ashley. Haha, stellar adventures and sheer greatness… I’m looking forward to THAT :D

      Hope Olympia’s treating ya well!

  4. LK / Jul 17 2010 5:13 am

    happy early birthday!

    ah…Rome. i miss those days. did you live in the Campo apt also? i loved stepping out onto the balcony in the morning and watching the happenings of the market below.

    • missallaneous / Jul 17 2010 9:37 pm

      Don’t lie, Linda. I know it’s Joe Rivetto that you miss :P I actually lived in a WAY crappier, bajillion year old apartment (dusty, with no hot water, and a washing machine that got black icky stuff all over your clothes) in Trastevere. It was awesome :)

      Let’s go back!

  5. bendedspoon / Aug 14 2010 8:44 pm

    Happy Birthday! :)

  6. hearttypat / Sep 16 2010 7:45 am

    That has been a fabulous 25 years! Now…you gotta try harder for your next 25!

  7. mypajamadays / Sep 16 2010 7:04 pm

    What a wonderful journey you have already been on! I found you through Freshly Pressed, congratulations. I look forward to reading more about you. Your writing voice sounds mature for someone in their mid-twenties.

    – Emily

    • missallaneous / Sep 16 2010 8:42 pm

      Thanks! I took a peek at your Pajama Days and really enjoyed reading about you and your brothers. Thanks for stopping by, Emily :)

Leave a Reply

