Skip to content
August 9, 2010 / missallaneous

How to be Alone

Watching/listening to How to be Alone just reminded me of the vast distance between being alone and loneliness; between silence and emptiness.

In the “endless quest for company” and incessant strivings to fill up the empty spaces between words, it’s easy to forget how happy I can be when all is still, and I’m completely content spending time not among others, not mucking around online and not thinking about work or school or plans and next steps. It’s almost easier not to be alone and to be absorbed by the noise and busyness, but I think making the effort to cross the distance from everyday chaos into quiet and alone can be incredibly rewarding.

Lonely is a freedom that breathes easy and weightless

And lonely is healing if you make it…

…Cos if you’re happy in your head, then solitude is blessed

Cos noise doesn’t mean company and busyness doesn’t mean fulfillment. Great spoken word, gorgeous little video. What a happy little reminder =)

For more on the poet, Tanya Davis, visit her site. And more on the filmmaker Andrea Dorfman here.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bendedspoon / Aug 9 2010 11:38 pm

    thanks for sharing this
    i dig the message and images :)

    one of the advantages of an introvert like me
    is being alone and silent is quite easy
    not lonely and empty, but happy :)

  2. Jason / Aug 11 2010 9:16 am

    Well said:) I need a bigger dose of good solo time in my life.

  3. Geeps / Aug 12 2010 5:12 pm

    What a great video. I especially love the part about dancing.
    “The way bodies move genuinely to beats is after all, gorgeous and affecting. “

  4. candaceroserardon / Sep 15 2010 11:53 pm

    hey there, just wanted to say thanks for posting such a brilliant video and for bringing it our attention…as an introvert myself, it’s great to know i’m not alone!

  5. [postage stamp required] / Sep 16 2010 2:09 am

    this made me smile

  6. Christen / Sep 16 2010 6:29 am

    i love this! thank you for posting it. :)

  7. bendedspoon / Sep 16 2010 9:59 am

    i have been coming back to check on you
    but haven’t seen you for more than a month
    i now realized that you practice your
    ‘How to be alone’.
    good for you because your coming back
    is on headline!
    congrats on being on freshly pressed
    and i’m glad you are so K!
    :)

  8. jaz / Sep 16 2010 10:32 am

    This was perhaps the most uplifting thing I have ever seen. Thank you for sharing this, it has made my day! And, I’m sure, when the lonely-feeling days return, it’ll lift my day again. :-)

  9. teo / Sep 17 2010 3:25 am

    Thank you very much, I really need a reminder – I have difficulties with enjoying some alone and silent time for anything other than reading a book. Amazing video, 10x again :)

  10. aaronhaynes / Sep 17 2010 7:55 am

    i like. great post:)

Trackbacks

  1. Being Alone «
  2. I have immature brothers « I Am Always Correct

Leave a Reply

