Skip to content
October 1, 2010 / missallaneous

Freshly Pressed

You know what is happy? Writing about an annoying pet peeve and having a hundred strangers on the internet agree with you. Happy… and also somewhat bizarre.

After writing about how the letter “K” can sometimes get on my nerves, textiquette-wise, I was shocked to find 53 comments on my ranty post. There are probably about 2.5 people who read this blog regularly so it just didn’t make any sense. Until I got an email explaining that the post was being featured as a Freshly Pressed post on WordPress’ homepage. And then the hits just kept on coming..

Woah.

Every day, WordPress’s editorial team picks 10-11 posts from its vast blogosphere to be featured as Freshly Pressed on its front page.

See it? See it?! That's my post! On a highly frequented web page! :D I'm (kinda) famous!

Needless to say, this created a huge spike in my site traffic and in the comments –

Nada, nada, nada... Woah!

I didn’t even know one could get featured on WordPress.com like that. We’ll just call it a happy accident. To find out  about what it actually means to be Freshly Pressed, I did a little research and learned more from Joy, WordPress’ Editorial Czar herself : Five ways to get  featured on Freshly Pressed

To all who visited (whether you left a comment or not), thank you for dropping by! :D

Some of my favourite comments:

She.Is.Just.A.Rat / Sep 16 2010 12:26 am

Well…at least it wasn’t a “…”

– So true.

Andrea Simpson – Conflicted Mean Girl / Sep 15 2010 10:30 pm

K.

Li Li / Sep 16 2010 12:49 am

I use the dreaded K when I am responding to something that a co-worker has text me that I don’t like. You know, the ol’ “hey, i am running late can you cover my class?”

What I really want to reply is “Uh. H*LL no. Get your a$$ here on time.” But that isn’t professional– or being a team player– so I settle for the short and brusque K. I feel that it gets my point across. ;)

milieus / Sep 16 2010 12:19 am

I yelled at my mom for saying “OK” to me in a text. By yelled, I mean texted angrily. I completely agree with you 100%! I took the effort to type to you, so you can spend a second typing to me too.

I just love the thought of yelling translated through text =  “texting angrily”. Hahahaha…

Dipa Kalawi / Sep 17 2010 3:22 pm

In my country they were called “ALAY” language, in nasty writing “4L4Y”

– “Nasty writing”, hahaha..

politeandparanoid / Sep 16 2010 9:02 am

so funny & true. next time i’m going to try “okie dokes” =)

– Aw, that just warms my heart! :)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gina Mortenson / Oct 5 2010 5:06 am

    Loved your post “K” and totally agreed with EVERYTHING in it. I can’t even imagine going from 0 hits per day to almost 3,500… an honor very well deserved. Keep up the great work!

  2. Geeps / Oct 8 2010 6:09 pm

    Oh, I guess Google Reader stalking doesn’t show up on your stats. I’m your loyal reader! So please post more often. =)

    Hope you’re enjoying Japan.

Leave a Reply

